LutheranArts received many applications for the Martin Luther Hymn Prizes.  Entries came from across the United States.  In August, a panel of distinguished professionals met to determine who would receive these prizes.  Susan Palo Cherwien, Aaron David Miller, and Paul Westermeyer have chosen these artists:

The Northern Texas-Northern Louisiana ELCA Synod Prize 
Celebrating the Visionary-Missional Leadership of Bishop Kevin S. Kanouse  2000-2016

“Proclaim the Love That Breaks Down Walls”
Christine Kallman, Text Writer
Dan Kallman, Composer

The Diane and Paul Jacobson Prize

“Christ of our Past, Our Present, Our Future”
Jayne Southwick Cool, Text Writer
Deanna Witkowski, Composer

The Baker Family Prize

“Wherever Christ is Present”
Reverend Don Holmstrom, Text Writer
David Evan Thomas, Composer

Each prize is $6,000. The writer receives $2,000 and is commissioned to create a single text. The composer receives $4,000 and will use that text in creating both a hymn for the congregation and an anthem for the choir.  March 1, 2017 is the deadline to receive these new hymns and anthems. LutheranArts will publish the music on this website for broad distribution in 2017 as part of our honoring the historic 500th Anniversary of the Protestant Reformation.